Class of 2024

Michael Ament, DO

Hometown: Phoenix, Arizona

About Me: I am married and am a dad to twin humans and a dog! I grew up in Arizona and was a firefighter/ paramedic for 11 years before medical school. I have also served in the Air Force Reserves for over 18 years. I am very interested in prehospital medical care and education. I am super thankful for the opportunity to train and learn with such an amazing team at North Florida!
Hobbies: Family time, going on cruises with my wife and kids, spending time at the beach, going to the movies, traveling and experiencing new cultures.
Jeff Holloway, MD

Hometown: Sedalia, MO

About me: Big fan of high fives and corny jokes. I have 2 dogs and a fiancée doing urology at UF. I really like to be outdoors. My superpower would be breathing underwater or being able to fly. Tacos are my spirit animal.
Hobbies: diving, fishing, botany, hunting, golfing, painting, brewing beer

Mariah Cruz, DO

Hometown: WA, AZ (Army brat)

About me: I’m a wife and a mama of a baby girl. I’m passionate about underserved populations and would love to be involved global health, medical mission work and/or disaster medicine in the near future.
Hobbies: Trying new restaurants/foods, singing, dancing

Cameron Grossaint, DO

Hometown: Mill Creek, Washington

About me: I was born and raised in Seattle before heading to the Southwest for medical school. Former sprinter/runner. I love to adventure and be outdoors as much as possible at the beach, trails, or springs with my fiance and our dog Dino.

Hobbies: Hiking, Sports, local coffee shops or breweries, photography

Asahi Hossain, MD

Hometown: Asahikawa, Japan

About Me: I was born in Japan and grew up in Queens, NYC. I have also lived in multiple cities throughout Florida I love to explore different cities and try different kinds of foods. I also feel very much at home just exploring the outdoors and look forward to the great trails, parks, springs and activities Gainesville has to offer!

Hobbies: Traveling, Cooking, Stargazing at the beach, Astronomy, History, Ornithology/Bird Watching

Katie Johnson, DO

Hometown: Pikeville KY

About me: I was born and raised in Eastern Kentucky, in the heart of Appalachia. I had lived in Kentucky my whole life before moving to Florida. My husband and I couples matched, he is an an Otolaryngology resident at the University of Florida. We have one cute little fur baby, Ollie, and love our time in Florida so far!
Hobbies: Travel, obvi, I’m an ER doctor lol; Reading, I love fiction romance novels; baking, dog treats in particular; spending time in the sun at the beach or the pool or wherever 🙂

Adriana Padilla, DO

Hometown: Miami, FL

About me: I was born and raised in Miami, FL. I enjoy my days off spending time with my fiancé and our three dogs. We enjoy going to the beach, hiking, running, etc.
Hobbies: traveling, fitness, basketball

Christopher Sowers, MD

Hometown: Richmond, VA

About me: Raised in Virginia and lived in the Richmond and DC areas prior to medical school. Since starting residency, I've loved exploring Gainesville, particularly the nearby freshwater springs. On days off, you can find me exploring a local park with my significant other and our Golden Retriever named Otter.

Hobbies: Hiking, biking, paddleboarding, sports, live music, local breweries and restaurants

Class of 2025

John DiFebo, MD

Hometown: York, PA

About me: I retired from the Air Force after 20 years.  I was a fighter pilot and flew several aircrafts, but the F 16 was my favorite.  I have raised 4 children, who are all grow now.

Hobbies: Table top gaming, Video Games, Cooking international cuisine, Aviation, Racing, Travel

Matthew Gonzalez, DO

Hometown: Miami/Ft Lauderdale, FL

About me: Born and raised in Miami / Ft. Lauderdale, headed up to Alabama to swim for
undergrad and attended medical school. Very excited to be back in my home state after 10+ years. On my days off you can catch me shooting hoops, cooking, trying to keep my plants alive, or listening to new music and podcasts!

Hobbies: Cooking, coffee, basketball, swimming, gardening, guitar, Marvel, traveling

Jonathan Martin, MD

Hometown: San Antonio, TX

About me: I’m a Texas transplant enjoying the Florida sunshine and having a blast in the ER. I have a twin brother back home and I’ll be going active duty Air Force after residency. I’m Type B. Please help me remember my deadlines.

Hobbies: Floating the springs, gardening, arguing with my Great Dane

Courtney Mason, DO

Hometown: Kalamazoo, MI

About me: me: I was born and raised in Michigan and lived there for 30 years, although my heart has been in Florida for most of my adult life. My husband and I would come to Florida every chance we got until we were lucky enough to move here! After a traditional undergrad experience, I spent quite a few years on a very untraditional path before going to medical school. My life included starting a family, owning a carriage company and ghost tour business, remodeling houses, substitute teaching, and breeding the world’s snuggliest Newfoundlands.

Hobbies: hanging out with my husband and kids, being in the sunshine, shelling, yoga

Jordan Memmott, DO

Hometown: Nephi, UT

About me: I was born and raised in central Utah, and loved making quality time with family and friends a priority. Recreating in the outdoors filled most of my free time growing up. I enjoy deepening relationships with my close friends as well as learning through other peoples' life experiences. 

Hobbies: Riding my motorcycle, mountain biking, hiking, space exploration, and board games.

Maureen Mohan, MD

Hometown: Ocala, Florida

About me:  Born in NY bust raised in Florida, I am happy to call central Florida my home. I went to undergrad in Gainesville so I'm thrilled to be back in the swamp! I love bringing my puppy, Knight, along to experience all Gainesville has to offer. 
Hobbies: CrossFit, mountain biking, long-distance running, musical theater, piano

Gretchen Nonawzki, DO

Hometown: Portland, OR

About me: I love to explore and live in new areas, which is what has taken me all over the country in the past 10+ years. This also means that I have taken a long and winding road to emergency medicine (including a prior residency in family medicine), but there is nowhere else I'd rather be right now! This is a great program with amazing people and endless opportunities for a well-rounded emergency medicine education. 

Hobbies: exploring the great outdoors, finding my way through all 50 states, collecting snow globes from my travels, spending hours playing new board games, learning new crafts (most recently crochet), relaxing at home with our miniature dachshund, and keeping up with women's soccer (while making my wife a supporter of my Portland Thorns, as pictured above)
Danielle Slowey, DO

Hometown: Tampa, Fl

About Me: I was born and raised in Tampa Fl, I’m an only child but have a huge extended family. I love traveling and new adventures. I’m a big football fan, especially FSU and the Bucs. On my off days you can find me out in the sun or by the water.
Hobbies: traveling, outdoor activities, line dancing, watching football, reading, fantasy football, baking

Class of 2026

Cody Anderson, DO

Hometown: Allerton, Iowa

About me: I was born on the west coast in Coos Bay, Oregon. My family then moved to rural Iowa where I grew up. I moved to Arkansas for undergraduate and then proceeded to medical school there as well at the NYIT campus in Arkansas.  I have a strong interest in procedures, POCUS, and austere/disaster medicine. I am currently an officer in the Army Reserves and I plan to practice in critical access hospitals post-graduation.  

Hobbies: Cooking, Jiu Jitsu, Camping, and working on my project truck that I tell my wife will run someday. 

Dariel Diaz Perez, MD

Hometown: San Juan, Puerto Rico

About me:  I was born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico. I really enjoy any type of fun that can be had at the beach. My wife and I are very big foodies and are always trying new places looking for our next date spot. We have an adorable fur baby named Lily and she loves long walks and chasing squirrels.

Hobbies: Trying new restaurants, travelling, reading for pleasure, working out and watching/playing soccer.

Jacob McClendon, DO

Hometown: Dawsonville, GA

About me:  My wife and I have two little boys who we love very much. Before beginning residency, I served four years active duty as an Air Force Flight Surgeon. 

Hobbies: I like to exercise, read science fiction, and paddle 

Mariel Michaels, MD

Hometown: St. Petersburg, FL

About me: I was born and raised in St. Pete, Florida, where I  went to undergrad at USF. I received my MPH during medical school and hope to incorporate what I have learned to address health care discrepancies affecting patients in the ED. I am also a fiancé and a mom to a rambunctious two-year-old.  

Hobbies: When I'm not working, I love to hang out with my family and co-residents! I'm excited to kayak the springs near Gainesville and enjoy the outdoors with my fam. My fiancé is a sous chef so we love checking out new restaurants and local breweries on our days off!

Stephanie Panday, MD

Hometown: Ocala, FL

About me: Multi-generation Florida native and love "real Florida" and exploring nature by camping, hiking, and boating. I enjoy spending time with my family at home, reading, gardening, and doing arts and crafts with my daughter.

Hobbies: Painting, needlepoint, cooking, nature watching, camping

Angela Patton, MD

Hometown: Flatwoods, KY

About me: My German Shepherd dog, Brock, is the light of my life! Spending loads of time outside, especially with him, is vital! I enjoy immersing myself in art, entertainment, and music. Big proponent of appreciating shared experiences around food and coffee. I’m always down for an adventure!

Hobbies: photography, reading (fantasy, science fiction), watching TV series/movies, traveling, being outdoors, game nights with family and friends

Joseph Roesch, DO

Hometown: Herndon, VA

About me: I grew up in Northern Virginia (NOVA) playing high school football and wrestling. I went to Virginia Tech for college where I served as an EMT while completing a degree in Microbiology with a minor in Medicine and Society. I was in Kentucky the past five years for medical school/fellowship as I served as an OMT/Anatomy fellow for KYCOM between my third and fourth year of clinical rotations in Louisville. I go to Gainesville Health and Fitness every chance I can and I love hanging out with my co- residents here at North Florida!

Hobbies: Anything active, playing piano, going to breweries, watching sports, hiking

Claudia Urban, DO

Hometown: Chicago, IL

About Me: I was born in Chicago and raised in the northwest Chicagoland suburbs. I am a first generation Polish-American and am proficient in the language.  I'm a big foodie, so I am excited to check out all of the restaurants and cafes in Gainesville! On my days off, you can find me taking long walks through local trails and spending time with family/friends. 

Hobbies:  travelling to tropical destinations, soccer (Manchester United fan for life), wine tasting